Tom Minter's Off The Stoop Blog

a playwright's journey, creating, connecting, and conversing.

Portraits Alive! Summer 2015

with one comment

..an amazing program continues at the National Portrait Gallery, here in DC -and wonderfully enough, I was brought back as a facilitator this summer.

A very talented group of students grappled to find meaning deep behind the ‘portrait plaques’, and in the character of their chosen sitter – inevitably meaning a journey of their own in discovering the dynamic complexities of ‘success’, and empowerment.

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Tom,

    Hope you remember me from working with Bruce Taylor at the Washington National Opera and I believe we last saw each other at the Kennedy Center VSA workshop some time ago. I just wanted to let you know that I had the pleasure of attending the noon performance today of Portraits Alive. I was some kind of delighted to see on the program that you had a hand in developing the student-actors who flawlessly–and I do mean flawlessly–executed their oratory performances. When Daiana James “became” Leonard Bernstein, I had tears rolling down my cheeks as her emotional delivery was simply awesome. Afterwards I felt compelled to touch her elbow and let her know she was simply awesome. The others too were equally superb. So I promised Blair that I would make a point of being in touch with you to let you know that you are a wonderful playwright and teacher. Your touch was evident in each and every word spoken and in the case of Tiera Thomas sung. Her rendition of “Story Weather” was lovely. Glad to see you are doing very well. May you continue your great work. Love.

    Lynn B. Poe

    Lynn B. Poe

    August 7, 2015 at 6:40 PM


Leave a Reply

